Acceptance

So after a long and treacherous journey through the dark and cold world of “I have writer’s block” I have finally rejoined the living and have regained the brain power I need to write again!

After picking at my brain and wondering what the heck is an interesting topic to discuss I finally decided to look inwardly and I realized that there is something that everyone needs to hear every once in a while. With that being said, I titled this “Acceptance” because my dear friends, we all need to learn how to accept and love ourselves. I am a Christian and my belief is that God made each and every one of us in a specific way, a very particular and unique way, and it makes him upset whenever we diminish ourselves and put ourselves down. Because he sees us as a perfect masterpiece. He does not mess up. Ever. I mean lets be honest here, wouldn’t you be pretty upset if someone dissed your artwork? Like, um, excuse me? That picture I drew of that beautiful butterfly with my 64 pack of crayons is pretty fantastic, thank you very much. What I’m trying to get at here is that God is proud of his artwork and his creations, so shouldn’t we be?

The world we live in today is extremely critical. Some examples I’m sure everyone is aware of are, what you wear, what size pants you are, how long your hair is, what kind of car you drive, how big your house is, how tan your skin is, how great of an athlete you are, blah blah blah. The list can go on and on, but you get the point. There’s so many expectations to uphold, am I right? Just say it, I’m right.

But I am here to tell you this.. STOP COMPARING YOURSELF. This is most definitely something that I personally struggle with from time to time, and to be quite honest, I get angry with myself because I am reminded every single time of how wonderfully made I was and that I was not put on this earth to please others or to conform to this world and look the expected part. I was placed here to grow in my own way and to become the person that God intended me to be, which is completely myself.

Girls: Quit looking at other female’s pictures on Instagram and wishing that you had her hair, her skin, her clothes, etc. Instead, appreciate the fact that you are you and that’s more than okay. Because sometimes although she may be beautiful, it doesn’t matter. This may be extremely cheesy, like complete cheddar cheesy, but its what’s on the inside that counts. If your personality is as dry as the Sahara then your pretty face means nothing. So be beautiful on the inside and that will shine through on the outside! Don’t be a diva and boastful about your looks, because that will either, A: make others feel inferior, B: make other’s want to punch you in the esophagus, or C: all of the above.

Guys: Ahh yes, the stereotypical “every guy wants to look like Dwanye Johnson AKA The Rock”. Not every guy’s dream is to play college football or the NFL, but most guys want to come off as Hardy McHardypants thinking that it will prove something to the world around them. Sorry to burst that bubble of yours that is completely filled with testosterone but you don’t have anything to prove to anybody. Like I mentioned to the girls, it doesn’t matter if you’re 6 foot 7 with biceps the size of a cat, or if you can slam dunk a basketball, or if you can eat the most hot dogs. Wiener champion of 2015.. yeah that’ll really get the ladies. No seriously, please tell any girl that, they will date you. Just kidding don’t do that. Back to what I was saying, all those things are great. It’s great to be fit and to be good at sports, but if you’re arrogant about it then it means nothing. Being humble is important. What you are on the inside is what will reflect outwardly. If you decide you want to be a jerk and rub your achievements in people’s faces, then people will only see you as a jerk. But if you decide to be humble about your achievements then people will see you as someone to look up to. Who cares if being a nice guy isn’t living up to the expectations of “cool”, that’s not what you were made for. You were made to be who God created you to be, and to accept that and love yourself.

I hope this read was somewhat insightful and beneficial to all who stumbled upon it! ACCEPT YOURSELF AND LOVE WHO YOU ARE! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Acceptance

Leave a Reply

